documenti necessari per andare in Portogallo

Today’s post is designed for all those who have not yet visited Portugal and wish to discover the beauties of this country. Browsing online we have discovered how many times the query: travels documents to Portugal is typed by web users and it represents a common search on the web.

Therefore, through this article, Boa Onda Guesthouse Peniche, wishes to remove any doubts about it by listing the basic documents for traveling in the Portuguese territory.

Where is Portugal

The first consideration to be made of what documents are required to go to Portugal is the geographical location of this country. Located in the South-West of Europe, Portugal borders with Spain along all the north and west lines, while in the East and South it is touched by the Ocean. Thanks to its strategic position it enjoys a favorable climate throughout the year and if you asked what is the best time to go to Peniche or Portugal, all you have to do is read a previous blog article dedicated to this topic.

Dove si trova il Portogallo

Travel documents to Portugal

As mentioned earlier, Portugal is in Europe and belongs to its economic community as well as to the European Union. For this reason, citizens from EU countries nationality will have just to bring with them of the following documents:

  • Passport
  • Identity Card

It is important to remember that driving license does not represent a valid document for air travel and for this reason, you will not be allowed to go to Portugal. Furthermore, we want to underline that no type of visa is necessary to enter Portugal.

Which countries are part of the EU and EEA

Citizens of any member country of the EU(European Union) and the EEA (European Economical Area) can enter to Portugal without a visa. In detail, the EU countries are:

  • Austria,
  • Belgium,
  • Bulgaria,
  • Cyprus,
  • Croatia,
  • Denmark,
  • Estonia,
  • Finland,
  • France,
  • Germany,
  • Greece,
  • Ireland,
  • Italy,
  • Latvia,
  • Luxembourg,
  • Malta,
  • Dutch,
  • Portugal,
  • Czech Republic,
  • Romania,
  • Spain,
  • Swiss
  • Hungary

The countries inside the EEA are the following:

  • Iceland,
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway

Which are the other NO-EU countries Visa exempt

It is possible to visit Portugal without applying for a residence visa even if you come from other countries outside the European Union. The necessary condition, however, is that for which stays are less than three months. Provided that this condition is respected, citizens of the following countries will be able to travel to Lisbon only with their passport:

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Vatican City, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Nicaragua, New Zeeland, Panama, Paraguay, Republic of Korea, San Marino, Switzerland, Singapore, Uruguay, USA and Venezuela.

Other cases

For all other cases, citizens interested in traveling to Portugal are invited to consult the official website of the Portuguese authorities in order to avoid unpleasant misunderstandings that could cause them various problems during their holiday.

You can always ask for detailed information at the Portuguese Embassy in your country or consult the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Portugal.


Hoping as always to have answered your questions, we invite you to share the article dedicated to find out which are the travel documents to Portugal on your social channels and contact us for any further information. Our official email is:

  • info @

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.